Effective June 23, 2017: 16- and 17-year old minors do NOT have to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. Minors younger than 16 will need to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work (reference 2017 Wisconsin Act 11). Employment options vary with age.
To apply for a permit, the minor MUST be present and bring the following with him/her:
- Letter of Intent To Hire from the employer
- Social Security Card
- Proof of Age (i.e., Certified birth certificate, hospital record, baptismal certificate, State ID, or Wisconsin Driver License)
- Written permission from a parent or guardian
- $10.00 fee