
REQUIREMENTS TO APPLY 
 

DATE OF CEREMONY:  The Officiant, wedding date 
and location Must Be Scheduled Prior to the couple 
coming in to apply for their marriage license.  Couples 
make their own arrangements.  Accredited ordained 
minister, priest, judge, court commissioner, or other 
person qualified to be an “Officiant” may perform the 
ceremony (per WI SS 765.16).  Officiants must be 18 
years of age or older.  Neither our office nor the State 
Vital Records Office is able to confirm the legality of a 
religious officiant.  If you have a question about the 
legality of the officiant you have chosen, you may want 
to seek legal counsel. 
 

RESIDENCY:  Couples can apply together in any 
Wisconsin county. If both parties are residents of 
another state or country, the application is filled out in 
the county of the ceremony. 
 

MARRIAGEABLE AGE:  Any person who is 18 years old 
can marry.  If a person is 16 or 17, the license will be 
issued only with notarized written consent of both 
biological parents, legal guardians, or custodians.  
Consent forms are available in the County Clerk’s 
Office.  Persons under the age of 16 may not marry. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TIME PERIODS 
To apply, the couple comes in to the County Clerk’s 
Office 4 to 60 days prior to the ceremony. 
 

3-DAY WAITING PERIOD:  Wisconsin law requires a 3-
day waiting period, not including the day of the 
application, before the license can be issued from the 
County Clerk’s Office. 
 

LICENSE EXPIRATION:  The license is valid for 60 days 
after the date of issuance and the marriage must be 
performed within the 60 day time period.  If the 
marriage does not occur within this period, a new 
application must be filled out and fees incurred again. 
 
 

PLEASE BRING REQUIRED DOCUMENTS: 
 

*BIRTH CERTIFICATE:  State certified birth certificates 
are required, no photocopies – in WI, it is a felony to 
copy vital records!  NOTE:  The hospital souvenir birth 
document (with the imprints of your feet) and State 
Notification of Birth Registration  are not legal 
documents and not acceptable.  If the birth certificate 
is not in English, it must be translated. 
 

PHOTO ID:  Each applicant must present photo 
identification that is unexpired.  Examples include: 
valid driver license, state-issued I.D., passport, resident 
alien card, military I.D., etc. 
 

PROOF OF RESIDENCE:  Each applicant must provide 
proof of their current address (where you have actually 
lived for the past 30 days) such as a valid driver license, 
state-issued I.D., checkbook, residential lease, utility 
bill, etc.  A post office box is not acceptable. 
 

**IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED:  Parties must present a 
State annulment, Death Certificate, or Divorce Decree 
from their most recent marriage.  Divorce documents 
are typically titled: Findings of Facts, Conclusions of 
Law and Judgment (of Divorce) or Judgment of Divorce.  
In Wisconsin, divorced person(s) may not remarry until 
six months from the date of the granting of a judgment 
of divorce regardless of where the divorce was granted.  
If the documents are not in English, they must be 
translated. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:  Each party must provide 
the County Clerk’s Office with their Social Security 
number if one has been assigned to them. 
 

*CERTIFIED DOCUMENTS from the REGISTER OF DEEDS:  The 
following vital records events are available at any Wisconsin 
county Register of Deeds office: 

Births, Oct. 1907-present           Tribal Divorces, 2016-present     
Deaths, Sept. 2013-present     Tribal Marriages, 2016-present  
Divorces, 2016-present              
Marriages, June 2015-present 

Wisconsin birth, death and marriage records that do not fall 
within the above dates can be obtained from the Register of 
Deeds office in the county where the event occurred.  The 
fee in Wisconsin is $20 for the first copy and $3 for each 
additional copy at the time of purchase. 
 

**DIVORCE JUDGMENTS from the CLERK OF COURTS:  
Copies of final Divorce Judgments are available from the 
county where the event occurred.         

ML APPLICATION CHECKLIST                                                                                                                                                                                                     
___ Wedding date is scheduled:___________________  
   Make appt. in County Clerk’s Office to apply for 

marriage license 4-60 days prior to date of 
ceremony. 

    Where will the ceremony take place?  
Applicants need to know both, the county 
name and municipality (town, village or city). 

Name of County:_________________________________ 

Name of Town, Village, City:________________________ 
 

___ Officiant Information: 
  Name_________________________________  

  Address_______________________________ 

  ______________________________________ 

  Phone #_______________________________ 
 

     ___ Witness Information (18 years of age or older): 

  Name_________________________________ 

  Name_________________________________ 
 

___ Certified copy of birth certificate issued by the 
  county or state of birth.  (NOT a hospital 

souvenir birth document with footprints, or 
State Notification of Birth Registration.) 

 

     ___ Photo I.D. (driver license, state-issued I.D., 
passport, resident alien card,  military I.D.) 

 

     ___ Proof of Residency (driver license with current 
address, checkbook, payroll record, residential 
lease, utility bill, etc.) 

 

     ___ Proof of Termination of Previous Marriage  
  State annulment, Death Certificate, or Divorce 

Decree with judge’s signature and date. 
 

     ___ Social Security Numbers 
  Applicants must provide their SS numbers if 

one has been assigned to them. 
 

___ License Fee $80 paid at time of application.  
Additional fee of $25 if the legally mandated 
3-day waiting period is waived for a pre-
approved reason. 

 

___ Parental Consent Form 
        Persons age 16 and 17  are required to provide 
        both parent’s or legal guardian’s notarized 
        written consent to marry.  If applicable, obtain 
        forms from County Clerk’s Office. 

No Blood Tests or Physicals 
Are Required In Wisconsin 



 (Reference: WI Statutes Chapter 765) 

  

JUDGES & COMMISSIONERS 
 

Judicial Officials will perform weddings at Courthouse  
during normal business hours 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. 
Judicial Officials who will perform weddings outside 
of the Courthouse, including weekends. 

To schedule your wedding ceremony at the 
Courthouse, please call the: 

   MANITOWOC COUNTY 
   FAMILY COURT OFFICE ...... (920) 683-4493 

CIRCUIT COURT COMMISSIONERS 
Atty. Patricia Koppa ....................... (920) 683-4015 
Courthouse, Basement, Room B-11 
 

Atty. C. Luke LeFevre ...................... (920) 683-4493 
Courthouse, 3rd Floor, Room 309 
 

CIRCUIT COURT JUDGES 
BR. I Hon. Mark Rohrer, Rm. 233 .............. 683-2758 
BR. II Hon. Jerilyn Dietz, Rm. 218 .............. 683-4042 
BR. III Hon. Robert Dewane, Rm. 212 ......... 683-4022 
BR. IV Hon. Anthony Lambrecht, Rm. B20 .... 683-6161 
 

MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGE 
City of Two Rivers 

Hon. Emily A. Walker ...................... (920) 793-5507 
1717 E. Park St., Two Rivers 
 

SUPPLEMENTAL COURT COMMISSIONERS 
Atty. John Bilka ........................... (920) 683-8989 
935 S. 8th St., Manitowoc         

Atty. Walter Gregorski .................. (920) 682-3713 
320 N. 10th St., Manitowoc  

Atty. Jacqueline Lorenz-Sehloff........ (920) 682-6361 
900 S. 10th St., Ste. 1, Manitowoc  

Atty. Eric Pangburn ...................... (920) 249-5533 
100 Maritime Dr., Suite 1D, Manitowoc                                       

Atty. Joseph Pozorski, III ................ (920) 684-6694 
846 N. 8th St., Manitowoc                   

Atty. Ralph Sczygelski ................... (920) 682-9990 
713 Washington St., Manitowoc      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To apply for your marriage license, 

call 920-683-4003  
to schedule an appointment. 

Appointments are scheduled: 

Monday - Friday 
9:00 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. 

Both parties need to be present. 

N O  E X C E P T I O N S  
 

The marriage license process takes approximately 
15-30 minutes to complete. 

If one or both of the applicants don’t understand 
or speak English, you need to provide a certified 

translator who is not a relative or friend to 
interpret at the time of application.                

Couples cannot translate for each other. 

Payment may be made by cash, check/money 
order (made payable to Manitowoc County) or 

credit card.  Credit card use fees apply. 

FEES:  The license fee is $80. 
However, a $25 waiver fee is charged IF, 

FOR GOOD CAUSE OR UNUSUAL CIRCUMSTANCES, 
at the discretion of the County Clerk,  

the marriage license needs to be released before 
the expiration of the 3-day waiting period. 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
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Applying for a 
 

  MMaarrrriiaaggee  
        LLiicceennssee  ..  ..  ..  
 

Congratulations! 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

JESSICA BACKUS 
MANITOWOC COUNTY CLERK 

 
Manitowoc County Courthouse 

1010 S. 8th Street / Room 115 
Manitowoc, WI 54220 

(Corner of 8th St. and Washington St.) 
jessicabackus@manitowoccountywi.gov 

 

Telephone: (920) 683-4003 
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