#### REQUIREMENTS TO APPLY

**DATE OF CEREMONY:** The Officiant, wedding date and location **Must Be Scheduled Prior** to the couple coming in to apply for their marriage license. Couples make their own arrangements. Accredited ordained minister, priest, judge, court commissioner, or other person qualified to be an "Officiant" may perform the ceremony (per WI SS 765.16). Officiants must be 18 years of age or older. Neither our office nor the State Vital Records Office is able to confirm the legality of a religious officiant. If you have a question about the legality of the officiant you have chosen, you may want to seek legal counsel.

**RESIDENCY:** Couples can apply together in any Wisconsin county. If both parties are residents of another state or country, the application is filled out in the county of the ceremony.

**MARRIAGEABLE AGE:** Any person who is 18 years old can marry. If a person is 16 or 17, the license will be issued only with notarized written consent of both biological parents, legal guardians, or custodians. Consent forms are available in the County Clerk's Office. Persons under the age of 16 may not marry.

No Blood Tests or Physicals Are Required In Wisconsin

#### TIME PERIODS

To apply, the couple comes in to the County Clerk's Office 4 to 60 days prior to the ceremony.

**3-DAY WAITING PERIOD:** Wisconsin law requires a 3-day waiting period, not including the day of the application, before the license can be issued from the County Clerk's Office.

**LICENSE EXPIRATION:** The license is valid for 60 days after the date of issuance and the marriage must be performed within the 60 day time period. If the marriage does not occur within this period, a new application must be filled out and fees incurred again.

#### PLEASE BRING REQUIRED DOCUMENTS:

\*BIRTH CERTIFICATE: State certified birth certificates are required, no photocopies – in WI, it is a felony to copy vital records! NOTE: The hospital souvenir birth document (with the imprints of your feet) and State Notification of Birth Registration are not legal documents and not acceptable. If the birth certificate is not in English, it must be translated.

**PHOTO ID:** Each applicant must present photo identification that is unexpired. Examples include: valid driver license, state-issued I.D., passport, resident alien card, military I.D., etc.

**PROOF OF RESIDENCE:** Each applicant must provide proof of their current address (where you have actually lived for the past 30 days) such as a valid driver license, state-issued I.D., checkbook, residential lease, utility bill, etc. A post office box is not acceptable.

\*\*IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED: Parties must present a State annulment, Death Certificate, or Divorce Decree from their most recent marriage. Divorce documents are typically titled: Findings of Facts, Conclusions of Law and Judgment (of Divorce) or Judgment of Divorce. In Wisconsin, divorced person(s) may not remarry until six months from the date of the granting of a judgment of divorce regardless of where the divorce was granted. If the documents are not in English, they must be translated.

**SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:** Each party must provide the County Clerk's Office with their Social Security number if one has been assigned to them.

\*CERTIFIED DOCUMENTS from the REGISTER OF DEEDS: The following vital records events are available <u>at any</u> Wisconsin county Register of Deeds office:

Births, Oct. 1907-present

Deaths, Sept. 2013-present

Divorces, 2016-present

Tribal Divorces, 2016-present

Tribal Marriages, 2016-present

Marriages, June 2015-present

Wisconsin birth, death and marriage records that *do not* fall within the above dates can be obtained from the Register of Deeds office in the county where the event occurred. The fee in Wisconsin is \$20 for the first copy and \$3 for each additional copy at the time of purchase.

\*\*DIVORCE JUDGMENTS from the CLERK OF COURTS: Copies of final Divorce Judgments are available from the county where the event occurred.

#### ML Application Checklist

	Wedding date is scheduled:
	Make appt. in County Clerk's Office to apply for marriage license 4-60 days prior to date of ceremony.
	Where will the ceremony take place?
	Applicants need to know both, the county
	name and municipality (town, village or city).
Name	e of County:
Name	e of Town, Village, City:
	Officiant Information:
	Name
	Address
	Phone #
	Witness Information (18 years of age or older):
	Name
	Name
	Certified copy of birth certificate issued by the
	county or state of birth. (NOT a hospital
	souvenir birth document with footprints, or
	State Notification of Birth Registration.)
	Photo I.D. (driver license, state-issued I.D.,
	passport, resident alien card, military I.D.)
	Proof of Residency (driver license with current
	address, checkbook, payroll record, residential
	lease, utility bill, etc.)
	Proof of Termination of Previous Marriage
	State annulment, Death Certificate, or Divorce
	Decree with judge's signature and date.
	Social Security Numbers
	Applicants must provide their SS numbers if
	one has been assigned to them.
	License Fee \$80 paid at time of application.
	Additional fee of \$25 if the legally mandated
	3-day waiting period is waived for a pre-
	approved reason.
	Parental Consent Form
	Persons age 16 and 17 are required to provide
	both parent's or legal guardian's notarized
	written consent to marry. If applicable, obtain forms from County Clerk's Office.
	ionnia moni country cicir a office.

#### **JUDGES & COMMISSIONERS**

◆Judicial Officials will perform weddings at Courthouse during normal business hours 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. **\*Judicial Officials** who will perform weddings outside of the Courthouse, including weekends.

To schedule your wedding ceremony at the Courthouse, please call the:

## MANITOWOC COUNTY FAMILY COURT OFFICE ..... (920) 683-4493

# CIRCUIT COURT COMMISSIONERS ◆Atty. Patricia Koppa ......(920) 683-4015 Courthouse, Basement, Room B-11

♦Atty. C. Luke LeFevre .....(920) 683-4493 Courthouse, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor, Room 309

#### **CIRCUIT COURT JUDGES**

♦BR. I Hon. Mark Rohrer, Rm. 233	<b></b> 683-2758
♦BR. II Hon. Jerilyn Dietz, Rm. 218	683-4042
♦BR. III Hon. Robert Dewane, Rm. 212	683-4022
♦BR. IV Hon. Anthony Lambrecht, Rm. B20	683-6161

#### **MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGE**

**City of Two Rivers** 

**\***Hon. Emily A. Walker.....(920) 793-5507 1717 E. Park St.. Two Rivers

#### SUPPLEMENTAL COURT COMMISSIONERS

<b>≭</b> ♦Atty. John Bilka	(920) 683-8989
935 S. 8 <sup>th</sup> St., Manitowoc	

**\***♦Atty. Walter Gregorski .....(920) 682-3713 320 N. 10<sup>th</sup> St., Manitowoc

**★**♦Atty. Jacqueline Lorenz-Sehloff......(920) 682-6361 900 S. 10<sup>th</sup> St., Ste. 1, Manitowoc

**★**♦Atty. Eric Pangburn ......(920) 249-5533 100 Maritime Dr., Suite 1D, Manitowoc

**★**♦Atty. Joseph Pozorski, III .....(920) 684-6694 846 N. 8<sup>th</sup> St., Manitowoc

**★**♦Atty. Ralph Sczygelski .....(920) 682-9990 713 Washington St., Manitowoc



To apply for your marriage license, call 920-683-4003 to schedule an appointment.

Appointments are scheduled: Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. to 3:45 p.m.

Both parties need to be present.

#### **NO EXCEPTIONS**

The marriage license process takes approximately 15-30 minutes to complete.

If one or both of the applicants don't understand or speak English, you need to provide a certified translator who is not a relative or friend to interpret at the time of application.

Couples cannot translate for each other.

Payment may be made by cash, check/money order (made payable to Manitowoc County) or credit card. Credit card use fees apply.

**FEES:** The license fee is \$80.

However, a \$25 waiver fee is charged IF, FOR GOOD CAUSE OR UNUSUAL CIRCUMSTANCES, at the discretion of the County Clerk, the marriage license needs to be released before the expiration of the 3-day waiting period.

**ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE** 

Revised 1/9/2024

### Applying for a

# Marriage Licente . . .

## Congratulations!



## Jessica Backus Manitowoc County Clerk

Manitowoc County Courthouse 1010 S. 8<sup>th</sup> Street / Room 115 Manitowoc, WI 54220 (Corner of 8<sup>th</sup> St. and Washington St.) jessicabackus@manitowoccountywi.gov

Telephone: (920) 683-4003